AoT Lausanne, first edition

November 12, 2018

Our first event took place on the 12th of November 2018, at the EPFL Satellite bar. The 60 places (which were free, of course) were booked in less than 48h, and the evening was a success!

Thanks to the committee’s organisation and the help of the team of the Satellite bar association, our great speakers explained us about all details of the Apollo 8 mission, which was the first manned mission to go around the moon, and to reach the far side.

Introducing the Apollo program, by Chloé Carrière

How did we end up so quickly on the surface of the Moon? The Space Race during the Cold War explains the motivations for the Americans to put so much effort and budget in the matter. Technologically speaking, what are the programs, which allowed Apollo to be born?




The amazing story of Apollo 8, by Martine Harmel, secretary of the Swiss Space Center

On December 21st 1968, three courageous American astronauts were the very first to escape the gravity of the earth and head to the moon. Martine presented the Apollo 8 mission with its main highlights in a period of cold war and social turbulence, using a paper Saturn V to demonstrate the various phases of the mission.




Astrobiology, Aliens & the Apollo landing sites, by Dr. Daniel Angerhausen

Dr. Daniel Angerhausen explains the signification of Astrobiology and presents some Earth Aliens such as the tardigrade. Then, he disproves some Alien theories and Megastructures such as the “Anomalies” on the Moon.

How are exoplanets detected from the ground ? Daniel shows the transit method applied in his research.




Asking for the moon, by Prof. Georges Meylan

Georges Meylan, cosmologist, brings us back in time by presenting the awe for the Moon since Galileo. Introducing Apollo 8 but also the following missions such as Apollo 11, he shows historical images of the discovery of our moon. He compares the needs for space exploration to the ones of wars like Vietnam’s.

AoT Lausanne, première édition

12 Novembre 2018

Notre premier évènement a eu lieu le 12 novembre 2018, au bar Satellite de l'EPFL. Les 60 places disponibles(gratuites, bien sûr) ont été réservées en moins de 48h, et la soirée a été un immense succès !

Grâce à l'organisation du comité, avec l'aide de l'excellente équipe de l'association du bar Satellite, nos incroyables speaker nous ont tout expliqué sur les différents aspects de la mission Apollo 8, qui a été la première mission habitée à faire le tour de la lune, passant ainsi derrière la face cachée.

Présentation du programme Apollo, par Chloé Carrière

Comment nous sommes-nous retrouvés si vite à la surface de la Lune ? La course à l'espace pendant la guerre froide explique les motivations des Américains à consacrer tant d'efforts et de budget à cette question. Sur le plan technologique, quels sont les programmes qui ont permis la naissance d'Apollo ?




L'incroyable histoire d'Apollo 8, par Martine Harmel, sevrétaire du Swiss Space Center

Le 21 décembre 1968, trois courageux astronautes américains ont été les tout premiers à s'échapper de la gravité de la Terre et à se diriger vers la Lune. Martine a présenté la mission Apollo 8 avec ses points culminants, dans une période de guerre froide et de turbulence sociale, en utilisant une Saturn V en papier pour montrer les différentes phases de la mission.




L'astrobiologie, les aliens et les sites d'alunissage d'Apollo, par le Dr. Daniel Angerhausen

Daniel Angerhausen a expliqué la signification de l'astrobiologie et présenté quelques extra-terrestres tels que le tardigrade. Ensuite, il a réfuté certaines théories et mégastructures extraterrestres telles que les "Anomalies" sur la Lune.

Comment les exoplanètes sont-elles détectées à partir du sol ? Daniel a montré la méthode de transit appliquée dans ses recherches.




Demander la lune, par le Prof. Georges Meylan

Georges Meylan, cosmologiste, nous fait remonter dans le temps en nous présentant l'admiration pour la Lune depuis Galilée. Présentant Apollo 8 mais aussi les missions suivantes comme Apollo 11, il montre des images historiques de la découverte de notre lune. Il compare aussi les besoins de l'exploration spatiale à ceux de guerres comme celle du Vietnam.